July 2014 Monthly Round Up

Wow, I can’t believe it’s July already!  Though the weather definitely has me believing it – 93 degrees today in Pennsylvania!  I can’t even imagine what it must be like in Disney now.  This month is going to be busy for me, with the show I’m currently in (Footloose) performing the last two weekends in July, and rehearsals already beginning for my next show!  I like to stay busy!

Disney in your Day news

resort-restaurants-part-1 round 2

Speaking of busy, there’s been a lot going on with the blog recently!  We are still finishing up some of the reviews and giveaways for the Disney Running Gear Guide – I have about five or six left, though I’m open to more if anyone has something they’d like reviewed.  I’ve also started a new weekly series to keep track of my training for the Tower of Terror 10 miler.

And then the Disney restaurant tournament is back!  We’re doing the first part of the resort restaurants (non signature/character dining resort restaurants).  We’re up to round 2, so make sure you cast your vote for that!

Disney News

into the woods

  • We’ve had lots of classic Disney movies turned into live action films, and the most recent one announced is Beauty and the Beast.  No details yet like a release date or casting, though rumors are flying!
  • Did you know that there are PhotoPass Photo Booths in Disney World now?  Capturing Magic featured them in a recent blog post!
  • Another Disney movie coming up is based on my all time favorite musical, Into the Woods.  The composer, Sondheim, recently shared some of the changes they’ll be making for the film.  I have to say I’m definitely disappointed.
  • A new show about conservation is coming to the Animal Kingdom!  It will be called “It All Started With a Mouse” and will take place at Rafiki’s Planet Watch.

Other Disney Blogs

mos_eisley

Mouse on the Mind is doing a great series called Imagineering Awesome, where various Disney bloggers share what attractions, resorts, or restaurants they would love to see Disney create.  And I’ve got one up on their blog too – read about my take on the Mos Eisley Cantina!

Theme Park Tourist posted this fascinating article on “11 Infamously Flubbed and Failed Theme Park Attractions.”  7 of them are from Disney Parks around the world.  Can you guess which ones?

I really love the Animal Kingdom, so I enjoyed reading the blog post The Ones that Really Matter Most over at Jambo Everyone.  They share some amazing information on the new species of animals that are at Animal Kingdom, and remind you what that park is really all about.

Runners may be interested in reading the post over at Run the Great Wide Somewhere about being Disenchanted with RunDisney.  I personally haven’t done enough races to experience most of these things, but I can certainly agree that the prices are getting absurd!

 

 

7 thoughts on “July 2014 Monthly Round Up

  1. Thanks for the shoutout! I do love runDisney and am already signed up for Wine & Dine and the WDW 10k. The fact that I love them so much is what inspired me to post about the areas in which they could go from good to amazing.

  2. I had never heard of “Into the Woods” until a couple months ago when I went with a friend to see the youth production of it. Now, I know that’s kind of like comparing diamonds to cubic z, but I thought it was the weirdest thing I’ve ever seen! I was incredibly impressed with the job these kids did because the back-and-forth dialogue/singing was amazing. But the storyline left me very very confused!! I thought it was interesting when I saw it was being turned into a Disney production and I’ve seen a LOT of uproar over the changes.

Leave a Reply

