ToT 10 miler training: 3 weeks to go

week 15

This week was one of my “easier” weeks since I didn’t have a long run… which was good, because I was busy and I know next week is going to be really tough!  Although it was all shorter runs this week I was really happy with how they went.  I’m running a 5k next weekend and I haven’t done one in awhile, so I’m feeling more confident that I’ll really be improving my time!

week 15 mon

For my Monday half hour run, I did a late night one and had my best time ever!  I was super happy with a 10:46 min/mile pace.

week 15 wed

Then Wednesday I went for an afternoon run, and I don’t know what got into me but I had an even better run – with a 10:31 min/mile pace!  Though I will say that was definitely not a sustainable pace for me to run at right now.  I definitely felt like I was done by the time it was over… really the last five minutes were very hard.  But it encourages me to know that maybe someday I’ll be able to feel comfortable with a pace like that for over 20 minutes – hopefully for a 5k one day!

week 15 sat

On Saturday I had my 3 mile run, but I did 3.1 so I could get a feel for my 5k time.  My pace was one I was pretty happy with.  My last official 5k, which was in May, I finished with a 12:00 min/mile pace, so I do think I will definitely see an improvement.  And that’s all I aim for – to improve!

Leave a Reply

