September 2014 subscription boxes

Nature Box

nature box

I love Nature Box.  One of the huge advantages it has over other boxes is that you get to pick what you are sent each month (though if you want a surprise, you can get that too!).  That way I can pick things I have a pretty good feeling I’ll like.  It’s $20 a month for 5 bags of snacks that have about five servings each.  Here’s what I got this month:

South plantain chips – these were so delicious and addicting.  Just like potato chips, but slightly healthier, and actually better tasting in my opinion.  We might have to get these in every box from now on.
Italian Bistro Pretzels – these were absolutely delicious too.  If you like garlic bread and those sorts of flavors, you’ll love these.  Basically parmesan garlic pretzels.
Blueberry nom noms – basically a blueberry oat cookie.  Very good, but with only 5 cookies in the bag I don’t think it’s a great value.
Mango orange fruit chews – healthier fruit snacks, and very low calorie too.  Same problem as above though – you get five little packets so to me it didn’t seem like that much.  The flavor was okay but nothing that blew me away.
Caramel pretzel pops – a nice flavor, and the caramel wasn’t overpowering.  I liked them well enough but my husband really loved them.

Bestowed

bestowed

I will say that I enjoyed the items in my box more than last month, but the value seems even worse.  Here’s what we got.

Qure water ($1.27).  It tasted fine but at the end of the day for me it was just bottled water.  It’s supposed to level out your pH levels, but I don’t really buy into that so I’m not impressed.
Balance Bare ($1.19).  The flavor was caramel nut sea salt.  It was a very nice taste, almost like a caramel peanut butter thanks to the nuts.  And it was at least a full bar.
Bitsy’s Brainfood Sweet potato Oatmeal Raisin cookies ($1.05).  You could definitely taste the sweet potatoes, which was fine with me as I love them.  But they were hard cookies and if I’m eating Oatmeal Raisin I want chewy!  It was a 1 oz. sample size bag.
Justin’s chocolate almond butter squeeze pack ($1.20).  I use almond butter almost every morning on my toast, so this sample packet was useful.  It was very chocolately – I couldn’t detect the almond at all.  Not something I would have every day but a nice treat!
Kale and chia chips ($1.32).  This was a personal sized bag, 1.5 oz.
Natural Calm ($4.16).  This contained 5 sample packs in different flavors. I already have a problem with energy during the day, so I drank this at night.  It seemed to help a little but I don’t know if that was the product or the fact that it was just late at night.  The taste was nice though – I tried the raspberry lemon and it was subtle but pleasant, like a very light lemonade.
Hello Fresh  ($40).  This is a gift card for $40 off a Hello Fresh subscription, which gives you the ingredients and recipes for weekly meals.  According to their website, 3 meals for 2 people would cost me $70.  Even with the coupon that would still be $30.  I can do better than that on my own and I don’t need people to do my shopping/recipe finding for me.  I won’t be using this (if anyone wants it, let me know).

Overall, not counting Hello Fresh, this box had a value of $10.19.  Not going to lie, considering the fact that this box costs $19 a month, this is insulting.  Even at my discount price of $12 a month I’m feeling ripped off.  I haven’t found anything I love, just things that are okay or I like well enough, not nothing I would probably get again.  I’m planning to cancel my Bestowed subscription.

Stitch Fix

fix

I got my first Stitch Fix!  If you don’t know what Stitch Fix is, it’s basically a company that gives you a “personal stylist” who picks out and sends you five clothing items.  I won’t post much here, but I did keep two items out of the 5 and was very happy with what I got.  I’ll be doing a full post on that sometime in the next week or two.

Loot Crate

loot crate

Loot Crate is basically a “geek” subscription box, filled with all sorts of fun things from video games, TV shows, comics, and more.  The theme for September was “Galactic,” so it was a lot of space related stuff.  I don’t get this box but my friend does, so I figured I’d share here.  Here’s what was in the box:

Star Trek Tribble.  This was my favorite thing, as I’m a huge Star Trek fan and the tribbles are just so adorable!  The box it came in was cute too.
Pop Rocks.  Kind of a throwaway item, but at least it’s a little something fun to go along with the theme.
Mal vinyl figure from Firefly.  I don’t watch this show, but this was the item in my box that my friend was most excited about.  It’s a nice figure and is going on his mantel of geekery.
Money from Firefly.  Again, this had no significance to me, but even to him as someone who watched the show he didn’t seem very interested in it.  I guess if you were really into the show it might be nice.
-Star Wars retro arcade magnet.  This is a fun way to combine Star Wars and retro video games.  My friend was excited to hang this on his fridge.
Bonus digital loot – this gives you access to some comics online – I didn’t see them.
Han Solo in Carbonite poster.  This was a cool looking poster and I bet Star Wars fans would love it.
Alien action figure.  Definitely a nice figure that adds to the value of this box, but neither my friend nor I are into Alien at all.

They also always include a little button and booklet to go along with the theme.  I think Loot Crate does a really great job of catering to all types of nerds, and they always seem to have a good value in their boxes.  This one didn’t seem quite as good as the superheroes one last month, but it was going to be hard to live up to that!

Do you get any Subscription Boxes?  What did you think of them?

Leave a Reply

