Subscription Boxes – December 2014

Bulu Box

bulu

Bulu Box is a subscription box that sends you samples of health, nutrition, and weight loss products.

Funnbar Protein Candy Chews – I loved the idea of this product, but the taste was just awful.  It left an aftertaste in my mouth that didn’t seem to go away for hours.
Berry Sleepy – a sleep aid that is supposed to work in 30 minutes, but it didn’t seem as effective to me as my usual melatonin.
Zestra Essential Arousal Oils – I could see this definitely working for some people.  It definitely made this area more.. sensitive… but it was a bit much for me.
Justin’s Peanut Butter – I’m not a huge peanut butter fan, but this one was really good.  I’d buy it again.  It had a natural taste, which I enjoy.
Sport Tea – I haven’t tried this one yet, but I hope it tastes good.  The idea of extra energy is nice, and I do enjoy tea.

This box had a better variety of items than the past one, but I’ve currently put my Bulu Box subscription on hiatus.  I like it, but it’s definitely not worth $10 a month to me.  When I got the groupon it was a great deal, with each box costing less than $5.  For just samples I can’t see spending more on it, and I’m not sure you can get a discount more than once.  If I find a way to get it cheaper again I will be back!

Ipsy

ipsy

Ipsy is a make-up bag subscription with 5 items per month for $10.  You also get a bag every month.

Tarte 4 in 1 mascara (~$8.00) – this is a nice mascara and goes on easy, no clumps.  I’m not sure about the “4 in 1” thing, but I like it.
NYX Cosmetics Butter Lip Balm ($4.00) – I liked the flavor and how it applied and held its color, but I was not a fan of the shade that I received.  I got “Ladyfingers,” which is a mauve, and it felt very 1980’s pre-teen to me.  Not a color I would ever really wear.  I’d be willing to purchase in a better shade though.
Pixi by Petra fairy dust ($10.00) – Apparently the best way to use this is as an eye shadow.  It’s okay, but very similar to one I got last month, and I liked last month’s better.
Crown Brush Infinity Shadow/Crease Brush ($6.99) – I have to admit that I usually just used the little brushes that come with eye shadow.  This truly makes a world of difference.  It goes on so easily and evenly.  Great brush!
Coolway Boost Repair Treatment ($4.87) – I’m not super excited about this and haven’t tried it yet.  I don’t use chemicals in my hair but I do blow dry.  I dunno if I have any damage in my hair but I guess I’ll give it a go anyway.

The total worth of my bag came to about $33.86, which I’m very happy with!

Loot Crate

loot crate

The theme for this month’s Loot Crate , a subscription box of geeky goods, was “anniversary.”

Joker/Batman POP vinyl – POPs are always fun, and my friend that gets this box likes to collect them.  This was a Loot Crate exclusive that has a combination of the joker and batman.
Captain America air freshener – cute and simple, but fun.
Groot Socks – these are pretty nice socks for Guardians of the Galaxy fans!
Simpsons wallet – it’s apparently very durable, but I’m not sure it’s the type of thing my friend will ever actually use.
Tetris stickers – these were probably my favorite thing!  They are colorful and fun, and came with a booklet with ideas of how to use them to make various designs and even create letters.
Ghostbusters doorhanger – a bit of a throwaway item, I think it would’ve been nice to get something a little more substantial to represent ghostbusters.
Batman comic – I know nothing about comics, but Batman is always a favorite.

All in all there were some good fandoms represented here, but the highlights for us were the POP vinyl and the tetris stickers.

Nature Box

nature box

Nature Box sends you five healthy snacks a month.  You can pick out what you get or have them surprise you.

Honey mustard dippin stix – I really enjoyed the taste of these, but my husband didn’t care for them because they use onion powder.
Sea salt pop pops – they tasted good, but were a little messy to eat!
Cinnamon spiced almonds – I loved these – delicious and perfect for the season!
South Pacific Plantains – these are staple.  They are so good and we get them in every box.
Sea Salt and Cracked Pepper Pumpkin Seeds – I liked the taste a lot, but mine came a little beat up I guess because they were very small pieces that made it difficult to eat.

Nadine West

nadine west

Nadine West is a new subscription box service that sends clothing and jewelry.  I wouldn’t compare it to Stitch Fix, because you only get one shirt a month (as well as two jewelry pieces), and most of their pieces are $25 or less.  There is also no service fee.  I was disappointed by the first month, but you can read about what I got here.

Stitch Fix

stitch fix

Stitch Fix assigns you a personal stylist and they pick out 5 items that you can try on in the comfort of your own home – you keep what you like and send back the rest!  I only get this one every other month, but if you’re interested and you missed it you can read my November review.  Check out my full detailed review of last month’s Stitch Fix here.

 

Leave a Reply

