Subscription Boxes – January 2015

Ipsy

ipsy

Ipsy is a make-up bag subscription with 5 items per month for $10.  You also get a bag every month.

Coastal Scents Liquid Eyeliner ($2.95)- I didn’t open this one yet because I have plenty of eyeliner.  I’d like to try and trade it for something else.
Laura Mercier Foundation Primer ($9.70) – I don’t really know exactly what a foundation primer does, but I tried it and it seemed nice enough.
Hey Honey Exfoliating Mask ($7.00)- I haven’t used this yet either, but I look forward to it!
Mojito Lip Balm ($12.00)- I liked this a lot.  It makes lips shiny, had a nice flavor, and felt good on my lips that are all chapped from the cold.
Pacifica Coconut eye shadow ($4.67)- This was a fine, neutral eye shadow.  I just feel like I’ve gotten a neutral eye shadow in every Ipsy bag, so I don’t know that I need more.

All told I’m coming up with a value of $36.32, which is great!  Although I’m not super excited about any of the products in it, but that’s just based on my own preferences.  The mojito lip balm is probably my favorite.

Loot Crate

loot crate

The theme for this month’s Loot Crate , a subscription box of geeky goods, was “rewind.”

Voltron t-shirt – Sadly, I’m not quite sure who voltron is!  It’s a cool looking shirt though
Space invaders tie – I thought this was really neat!  I love it.
Comic Notebook – it has stickers and blank squares to create your own comic.  I think this would be more fun for a kid.
Pixel sunglasses – if you need a pair of back-up sunglasses, these are pretty dorky and will do the trick!
Nintendo Action Figure – a cute little guy shaped like a Nintendo game cartridge.  Only downside is that his feet and arms didn’t seem to go in too well, they kept falling off.
Star Wars comic book – looks interesting!

Nature Box

nature box

Nature Box sends you five healthy snacks a month.  You can pick out what you get or have them surprise you.

Plantain Chips – These are a staple.  They are so good we get them in every box.
Cranberry Pepita Crisps – I loved all the flavors combined in here – though there is something very similar at Trader Joe’s too!
Asiago Cheddar crisps – these are a light, tasty snack, but not very filling.
Sea Salt Sun Crunch – really nice little snack if you like sunflower seeds but are looking for something a little different.
Honey Dijon pretzels – I really enjoyed these.  A strong honey mustard flavor on some hearty pretzels.

Stitch Fix

stitch fix

Stitch Fix assigns you a personal stylist and they pick out 5 items that you can try on in the comfort of your own home – you keep what you like and send back the rest!  I recently got my January Stitch Fix, and you can check out the full review here!

Leave a Reply

