Subscription Boxes – February 2015

Ipsy

Ipsy is a make-up bag subscription with 5 items per month for $10.  You also get a bag every month.

Ipsy feb

Cargo Cosmetics mini lip gloss (~$8.00)- Lip gloss is probably the #1 thing I like to get, and while this one was fine consistency-wise, I didn’t love the color.  It was way too pale a pink and just looked bad with my pale skin.
Composition No. 1 Parfum Oil ($15.00)- this is the teeniest tiniest sample because this stuff is expensive, but I thought it smelled really nice – kind of sweet and strong.
Luxie Beauty Large Angled Face Brush ($8.00) – this is great for putting on blush.  It’s amazing what a difference a good brush can make, and I’m happy to add this to my collection!
ModelCo Blush ($18) – This is my first blush from Ipsy, so that was nice . It’s a good shade and I’m pleased! I got the peach bellini shade. It will work well for my theater shows.
Tini Beauty Eye Shadow ($5.00) – This is nice, but the only issue is I’ve gotten something pretty much the same (neutral colored eye shadow) in every Ipsy bag.  So I didn’t really need this, though it’s something I’ll use eventually.

All in all I came up with a value of $54, which is by far the best for any Ipsy bag I’ve gotten.  The bag itself is cute, and every item in it is something that I would like and use (if only the lip gloss was a better shade!).  This month was a win for sure!

Loot Crate

The theme for this month’s Loot Crate , a subscription box of geeky goods, was “play” and involved games of all sorts.

loot crate

Blank Munny Figure – this is a white figurine you can decorate yourself.  Seems like something we could have some fun with!
Ready Player One – a book that both my friend and my husband had heard good things about – they’re both excited to read it!
SuperFight card game – this edition is exclusive to Loot Crate, and it sounds like a fun little “in between” game to play during our big board games.  We need another game night soon!
Rock Paper Scissors dice – this seems a little silly, but it literally is what it sounds like.
Hexbug – this thing scuttled around on the floor quite quickly!  I don’t know if my friend will find much use for it but my cat sure liked it.
Pac-Man poster – Pac-man is very popular with this crowd so this is a poster that will probably make it onto the wall!

I think this is the best Loot Crate I’ve seen so far.  Lots of good stuff, and the box itself turned into a game!

Nadine West

nadine west

What is Nadine West?  It’s a new subscription box service that sends clothing and jewelry.  I wouldn’t compare it to Stitch Fix, because you only get one shirt a month (as well as two jewelry pieces), but it sounds fun and more affordable.  Most of their pieces are $25 or less.  But the best part is that there’s no service fee.  Everything is free – they send you the package, you try it on, decide whether or not you want to keep anything, and send back what you don’t like.  So you literally have nothing to lose!

Last month was a big disappointment to me, and unfortunately I didn’t keep anything this time either.  I really liked the style of the shirt, but when I put it on it was way too tight – like, I don’t want to be able to see my bellybutton through my shirts.  The necklace was a little too big for me and pricey for quality ($35), while the bracelet had little ladybugs on it and felt like something for small children.  Back it all went!

Nature Box

Nature Box sends you five healthy snacks a month.  You can pick out what you get or have them surprise you.

(I thought I had a picture but now I can’t find it!)

Chocolate Banana Chips – these are a nice mix of sweet and savory.  A fun treat.
Chipotle Maple Almonds – these have a good kick to them!  I really liked them, as long as I had a glass of water nearby!
Mini Belgian Waffles – these are addicting.  They are almost like eating pieces of an ice cream cone.
Kung Pao Pretzels – these were super spicy!  They were too much for me.
Cinnamon Swirl kettle kernels – I’ve had these before and they’re a nice, sweet snack.

Stitch Fix

stitch fix

Stitch Fix assigns you a personal stylist and they pick out 5 items that you can try on in the comfort of your own home – you keep what you like and send back the rest!  My next fix won’t come til next month, but you can see my January fix here.

Stridebox

stridebox

 

This is my newest subscription box.  It’s called Stridebox and it’s for runners.  I plan to have a full review coming within the next week, so be on the lookout for that!

Leave a Reply

