A Personal Film Festival

Another blogger over at The Animation Commendation tagged me in a post to create my own personal film festival – basically, a list of my favorite films from each year that I’ve been alive.  I’ll try to pass along the fun by tagging some other bloggers as well!  You’ll see a lot of Disney movies on this list, but maybe a few others as well.  I did some honorable mentions too since I have such a love of Disney, but enjoy other films too!   I talk about Disney a lot on here (obviously), but this will also give you a glimpse into other things I enjoy.

1988:  Who Framed Roger Rabbit

11155547_800

1989:  The Little Mermaid

little mermaid
Honorable Mention:  Dead Poets Society

1990:  Back to the Future III

thLN74PY5F

1991:  Beauty and the Beast

beauty and the beast
Honorable Mention:  Hook

1992:  Aladdin

aladdin

1993:  The Sandlot

the-sandlot

1994:  The Lion King

lion king
Honorable Mention:  Forrest Gump

1995:  Toy Story

toy story
Honorable Mention: Pocahontas

1996:  The Hunchback of Notre Dame

hunchback of notre dame

1997:  Anastasia

thE5X3WJF8
Honorable Mentions:  Titanic, Hercules

1998:  Mulan

mulan

1999:  October Sky

large_hEHrAkdyCVGpIIxioLP7rB1zKUf

2000:  The Emperor’s New Groove

emperor's new groove

2001:  Moulin Rouge!

Moulin-Rouge!-2001-movie-poster
Honorable Mentions:  Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, Monsters Inc., Elling

2002:  Mr. Deeds (I know this movie is horrible, but for some reason my brother and I were obsessed with it!)

mr-deeds-movie-poster-2002-1020680738
Honorable Mention:  Chicago

2003:  Finding Nemo

Finding Nemo (2003) 5
Honorable Mention:  Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl

2004:  Mean Girls

rQ47rPx7pWdmbbufXwj19oAVypT

2005:  The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Movie-Poster-hitchhikers-guide-to-the-galaxy-543337_509_755
Honorable Mention:  March of the Penguins

2006:  The History Boys

thN82MR2BO
Honorable Mention:  The Prestige

2007:  Ratatouille

ratatouille
Honorable Mention:  Enchanted

2008:  WALL-E

wall-e

2009:  The Princess and the Frog

The-Princess-And-The-Frog-Movie-Poster
Honorable Mentions:  Up, Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, Star Trek

2010:  Tangled

tangled-new-poster
Honorable Mentions:  Toy Story 3

2011:  The Muppets

The-Muppets-Movie-Poster

2012:  Wreck-It Ralph

wreck it ralph

2013:  Frozen

frozen
Honorable Mention:  The Great Gatsby, Saving Mr. Banks

2014:  Muppets Most Wanted

muppets-most-wanted
Honorable Mention:  Into the Woods

2000 seemed like the worst year for movies that I’ve been alive.  I had to read through the lists and finally settled on the Emperor’s New Groove, which is by no means one of my favorite Disney movies.  It’s cute but nothing special.  The following year, 2001, was the trickiest!  Moulin Rouge! is my absolute favorite non-animated film.  But Monsters Inc. is one of my favorite Pixars.  And I’m a huge Harry Potter fan, and while the movies aren’t nearly as good as the books they are still very well done.  Elling is my favorite foreign film.  And all of those movies are better than the Emperor’s New Groove.

And now I’m calling out 3 other blogs to take on the challenge – Mouse on the Mind, Once upon a Run, and History and Hockey Sticks!

7 thoughts on “A Personal Film Festival

Leave a Reply

